Departmental Standing Committees

Departmental Standing Committees

The main objective of the standing committees is to secure more accountability of the Executive (i.e., the Council of Ministers) to the Parliament, particularly financial accountability.
• The 24 standing committees cover under their jurisdiction all the ministries/ departments of the Central Government.

  • Each standing committee consists of 31 members (21 from Lok Sabha and 10 from Rajya Sabha). The members of the Lok Sabha are nominated by the Speaker from amongst its own members, just as the members of the Rajya Sabha are nominated by the Chairman from amongst its members.
  • A minister is not eligible to be nominated as a member of any of the standing committees. In case a member, after his nomination to any of the standing committees, is appointed a minister, he then ceases to be a member of the committee.
  • The term of office of each standing committee is one year from the date of its constitution.
  • Functions of each of the standing committees are:
  • To consider the demands for grants of the concerned ministries/departments before they are discussed and voted in the Lok Sabha. Its report should not suggest anything of the nature of cut motions
  • To examine bills pertaining to the concerned ministries / departments
  • To consider annual reports of ministries / departments
  • To consider national basic long-term policy documents presented to the Houses
  • Limitations on the functioning of these committees are:
  • They should not consider the matters of day-to-day administration of the concerned ministries/ departments.
  • They should not generally consider the matters which are considered by other parliamentary committees.
  • Recommendations of these committees are advisory in nature and hence not binding on the Parliament

Any suggestions or correction in this article - please click here

Share this Post:

Related Posts: