latest news

At Honnenahalli in the Tumakuru district of Karnataka, the first-ever epigraphical reference (an inscription) to the date of death of Vijayanagar monarch Krishnadevaraya has been uncovered.
Normally, monarchs' deaths were not documented in inscriptions, and this was one of the few exceptions.


•    Krishnadevaraya died on Sunday, October 17, 1529, according to the inscription.
•    A lunar eclipse occurred on this day, by the way.
•    The inscription also records the gift of Tumakuru's village Honnenahalli for the worship of Tumakuru's god Veeraprasanna Hanumantha.
•    The date of Achyutaraya's (his successor) coronation is given as October 21, 1529 AD in the Kalahasti inscription.
•    The inscription is written in Kannada.


•    Krishnadevaraya was one of South India's most powerful monarchs. He was the third emperor of the Tuluva dynasty, and he ruled over virtually all of South India. 
•    Andhra Bhoja, Moory Rayara Ganda, and Kannada Rajya Rama Ramana were among the titles bestowed upon him.
•    After the fall of the Delhi Sultanate, he inherited India's largest kingdom.
•    He defeated the Sultans of Bijapur, Golconda, the Bahmani Sultanate, and the Gajapatis of Odisha to become the dominating monarch of the Indian peninsula, and he was one of India's most powerful Hindu rulers.
•    Krishnadevaraya was regarded the most strong and possessed the most vast dominion in the subcontinent when the Mughal Emperor Babur took stock of the potentates of north India.
UPSC Prelims 2024 dynamic test series
•    During his reign, Portuguese travellers Domingo Paes and Fernao Nuniz visited the Vijayanagara Empire.

Art and literature during his reign

Krishnadevaraya was a multi-talented man who was passionate in art, literature, and architecture. He was a big fan of Telgu and Sanskrit literature, and he wrote a lot in those languages. Amukta Malyada, written in Telgu and describing the marriage of Vishnu and Andal, is his most famous work. 
He wrote the Sanskrit drama 'Jambavati Kalyana' and kept a personal diary in Kannada called 'Krishnadevaraya DInachari'. Apart from the Sanskrit-language Jamabavati Kalyana, he also wrote Madalasa Charita, Rasamanjari, and Satyavadu Parinaya.
Krishnadevaraya also supported poets and academics whose fields of study ranged from mathematics to literature. His court is said to include the Ashtadiggajas, or Eight Poets.

Among the eight poets are:

1. Allasani Peddana
2. Madayagiri Mallana
3. Dhurjati
4. Nandi Timmara
5. Ramaraja Bhushana
6. Pingali Surana
7. Tenali Ramakrishna
8. Ayyalaraju Rambhara
He also encouraged women to pursue careers as writers. The Varadambika Parinaya, written in Sanskrit by Tirumalamba Devi, and Ganaga Devi's Madhurvijayam, which narrates the conquering of the Madurai Sultanate, are two important works by women.


It was built in 1336 by Harihara and Bukka of the Sangama dynasty, who had previously served under the Kakatiya monarchs of Warangal (with Guru Vidyaranya's blessings).
They then declared their independence and established "Vijayanagar" on the south bank of the Tungabhadra River (City of Victory)
Saivism was followed by the early monarchs of Vijayanagar. Their family God was Virupaksha. Later on, they were influenced by Vaishnavism. Siva, on the other hand, was still revered.
The Vijayanagar Empire and the Bahamani dynasty were always at odds over Raichur doab (fertile region between Krishna and Tungabhadra), Tungabhadra doab (fertile parts of the Krishna-Godavari delta), and Marathwada.
The Sultans of Madurai were its major opponents in the south.
The combined troops of Bijapur, Ahmednagar, Golkonda, and Bidar defeated Rama Raya at the Battle of Talaikotta in 1565, bringing the Vijayanagar Empire to an end.
Sri Ranga III was the last emperor of Vijayanagar.




(1336-1485)    The Sangama dynasty was the first to control the Vijaynagara empire. This dynasty produced the empire's founders, Harihar I and Bukka. It was in power from 1334 to 1485 AD.


(1485-1505)    The Saluva dynasty, founded by Narasimha, succeeded the Sangama dynasty as the empire's second dynasty. From 1485 to 1505 AD, it governed. They controlled practically all of South India.


(1505-1570)    Tuluva was the third dynasty to rule the Vijayanagar Empire, created by Vir Narsimha. The Tuluva dynasty ruled. Krishna Deva Raya, the most famous ruler of the Vijayanagar Empire, was a member of this dynasty. It was in power from 1491 to 1570 AD.


(1570-1650)    Aravidu, the fourth and final Hindu dynasty to rule the Vijayanagar kingdom in South India, was created by Tirumala.

Any suggestions or correction in this article - please click here ([email protected])

Related Posts: