Currency Printing Press And Mints

  • The Reserve Bank of India (RBI) prints and manages currency in India, whereas the Indian government regulates what denominations to circulate.
  • The Indian government is solely responsible for minting coins.
  • The production of bank notes, coins, nonjudicial stamps, postage stamps and other government related documents is managed by Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Limited (SPMCIL). It was established in 2006 after the corporatization of presses and mints functioning under the Indian Ministry of Finance. SPMCIL contains nine units, out of which there are four presses, four mints and a paper mill.


  • The first printing press of India Currency Note Press (CNP) was established in 1928 for printing bank notes in India. This press is located in Nashik, Maharashtra.
  • Bank Note Press (BNP) was established later. It has two branches located in Mysore, Karnataka and Dewas, Madhya Pradesh. Currently both CNP and BNP print Indian currency.
  • BNP has an ink factory as well and it produces ink for security printing.
  • Currency is also printed by Reserve Bank of India. It has two printing presses which are owned by Bhartiya Reserve Bank Note Mudran Private Limited. These printing presses are located in Mysore, Karnataka and Salboni, West Bengal.
  • Indian security Press is located in Nashik and Security Printing Press is located in Hyderabad. Both of these printing presses produce travel documents, postage stamps and other government related documents.



  • Security Printing and Minting Corporation of India Limited (SPMCIL) comprises four mints:
- India Government Mint, Mumbai
- India Government Mint, Kolkata
- India Government Mint, Hyderabad
- India Government Mint, Noida

Any suggestions or correction in this article - please click here

Share this Post:

Related Posts: