Kumbh Mela In India

Kumbh Mela In India

Kumbh Mela is celebrated four time over the course of 12 years in 4 different Hindu pilgrimage location. These 4 pilgrimage places are located on the banks of 4 sacred rivers. Kumbh Mela has great significance in Hindu religion, culture and history. 
Kumbh mela is one of the largest festivals in the world. It has been going on since 144 years attracting millions of devotees. It is believed in the Hindu religion that bathing the sacred Ganga river during the Kumbh Mela is the way to Moksha. It will also clean you of all evils and sins committed.

The 4 Hindu pilgrimage places where the auspicious Kumbh Mela is held are:

•    Haridwar on the banks of river Ganga
•    Ujjain on the banks of river Shipra
•    Nashik on the banks of river Godavari
•    Prayag on the confluence of rivers Ganga, Yamuna and Saraswati
There are different types of kumbh mela celebrated at different time and place. The place of the Kumbh mela is depends on the position of sun, moon and Jupiter.


Kumbh Mela In India
•    The Kumbh Mela is listed on UNESCO's Representative List of Humanity's Intangible Cultural Heritage.
•    The Kumbh Mela is the world's largest peaceful gathering of pilgrims, with participants bathing or taking a dip in a sacred river.
•    The Bhagvat Purana is the first written record of the Kumbha Mela.
•    Another written record of the Kumbha Mela can be found in the works of Huen Tsang, who visited India during the reign of Harsha in 629–645 AD.
•    The Bhagavata Purana, Vishnu Purana, Mahabharata, and Ramayana all mention the Samudra manthan episode.


Only Prayagraj hosts the Maha Kumbh Mela. It occurs every 144 years or after the completion of 12 Purna (Complete) Kumbh Melas.
Every 12 years, the Purna Kumbh Mela takes place. Prayagraj, Haridwar, Nashik, and Ujjain are the four main Kumbh Mela locations in India. At these four locations, it rotates every 12 years.
Ardh Kumbh Mela: The Ardh Kumbh Mela is a half-Kumbh Mela that takes place every six years in India only in two locations: Haridwar and Prayagraj.
The state governments organise the Kumbh Mela, which takes place in four different locations. Hundreds of millions of people participate with spiritual zeal.
Magh Kumbh Mela, also known as the Mini Kumbh Mela, is an annual event held only in Prayagraj. According to the Hindu calendar, it is held in the month of Magh.


Kumbh Mela In India
Kumbh Mela is formed by combining the words Kumbh and Mela. The name Kumbh comes from the immortal pot of nectar that the Devtas and demons fought over, as described in the Puranas, ancient Vedic scriptures. Mela is a Sanskrit word that means 'gathering' or 'to meet,' as we all know.
According to legend, the Kumbh Mela dates back to the days when the Devtas and Demons collaborated to create immortality nectar. The Devtas and the demons agreed to work together to complete the task, and they divided the nectar of immorality in half. The Devtas and demons gathered on the shores of the milk ocean, which is located in the celestial region of the cosmos. Lord Shiva drank the deadly poison created by the churning of the milk ocean without being affected. Years later, Dhanwantari reappeared with the nectar of immortality in her hands, having overcome numerous obstacles.
The four Gods – Brahaspati, Surya, Shani, and Chandra – were entrusted with the pot's safety by the Devtas. The demons then pursued the Devtas for several days. During this time, Kumbh drops fell in four locations: Prayagraj, Haridwar, Ujjain, and Nashik. Since then, these four locations are thought to have gained mystical powers. The battle for the Kumbh, or sacred pitcher, between Gods and demons lasted 12 divine days, which is equivalent to 12 years in human terms. As a result, the Kumbh Mela is held every 12 years and takes place at the above-mentioned sacred sites or holy sites. According to legend, the rivers turned into Amrit during this time, and as a result, pilgrims from all over the world flock to the Kumbh Mela to bathe in the essence of purity and immortality.


This coveted list includes intangible heritage elements that help demonstrate cultural heritage diversity and raise awareness of its significance.
When the Convention for the Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage went into effect in 2008, the list was created.

Any suggestions or correction in this article - please click here

Share this Post:

Related Posts: