Food Safety And Standards Authority Of India (fssai):

Food Safety And Standards Authority Of India (FSSAI):


The Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) is a statutory organization created by the Indian government's Ministry of Health & Family Welfare. The Food Safety and Standards Act, 2006, a consolidated statute pertaining to food safety and regulation in India, is what gave rise to the establishment of the FSSAI. The FSSAI is in charge of regulating and overseeing food safety in order to safeguard and advance public health.
The Central Government appointed a non-executive chairperson to lead the FSSAI who is currently holding or has previously held a position equivalent to Secretary to the Government of India.
New Delhi serves as the FSSAI's administrative center. Additionally, there are 6 regional offices for the authority, which are situated in Delhi, Guwahati, Mumbai, Kolkata, Cochin, and Chennai.14 reference laboratories, 72 state/UT laboratories spread across India, and 112 NABL-accredited commercial laboratories are among the laboratories that FSSAI has notified.
The Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI) decided to grant perpetual licenses to restaurants and food manufacturers on the condition that they file their returns each year in 2021 with the goal of benefiting industries involved in the manufacturing, handling, packaging, and selling of food items.


In accordance with the Food Safety and Standards Act of 2006, which became effective in the year 2006, FSSAI was founded on August 5, 2008. 22 members and a chairperson make up the FSSAI. The FSSAI is in charge of establishing food standards so that consumers, traders, manufacturers, and investors only have to deal with one organization. The Administrative Ministry of Food Safety and Standards Authority of India is the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India. The Food Safety and Standards Authority of India is granted the following legal authority by the FSS Act, 2006:
•    Creating regulations to establish standards for food safety
•    Establishing standards for the accreditation of food testing laboratories
•    Giving the Central Government technical and scientific guidance
•    Assisting in the creation of international food technical standards
•    Gathering and assembling information about food consumption, contamination, new dangers, etc.
•    Spreading knowledge and raising awareness of nutrition and food safety in India.


FSSAI has offices in four regions:

1.    Northern region:

Head office is in New Delhi.

2.    Eastern Region:

With a regional office in Kolkata, the 

3.    Western region:

Mumbai serves as the regional office

4.    Southern Region:

Chennai serves as the regional office.

Regulatory Structure:

The Food Safety and Standards Act of 2006 established the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India as a legislative organization. The main law governing the regulation of food items is the Food Safety and Standards Act (FSS), which was passed in 2006. The formulation and enforcement of food safety standards in India are also established under this law. State-level food safety authorities are chosen by the FSSAI. 
The Ministry of Health and Family Welfare has administrative responsibility over the FSSAI's operations.

Fssai's Primary Objective Is To:

•    Establish science-based guidelines for food writing
•    To control food production, distribution, storage, import, and sale
•    To ensure the safety of the food
•    The FSS Act is a collection of all previous legislation pertaining to food safety. 
Seven earlier acts were consolidated into the FSS Act:
•    Prevention of Food Adulteration Act of 1954
•    Fruit-Products Order, 1955 
•    Meat- Fruit-Products Order, 1973
•    Vegetable Oil-Product (Control) Order, 1947
•    Edible Oils packaging (Regulation) Order 1998
•    Solvent-extracted oil, de-oiled meal, and edible flour (control) Order 1967
•    Milk and Milk Products order, 1992


Food Safety And Standards Authority Of India (FSSAI):
•    Science and Standards Division (I & II)
•    Quality Assurance Division  
•    Regulations Division (I & II)
•    Regulatory compliance division
•    Human Resources and Finance division
•    General Administration and policy coordination division
•    Information Technology Division
•    Social and Behavioral Change Division
•    Trade and International Cooperation Division
•    Division of Training
•    Rajbhasha

Research And Quality Control: 

The FSSAI has established a set of rules for food safety research. The following research goals are carried out by the Research and Development division:
•    Develop fresh insights that can aid in enhancing and updating food safety requirements that are acceptable to international organizations
•    Conduct studies based on the best available data to enhance or create rules and regulations.

Quality Control:

The FSSAI has been given the authority to carry out a number of tasks relating to the standards and quality of food and beverages. "Laying out procedure and guidelines for notification of the accredited laboratories as per ISO17025" is one of these duties in addition to others.


The Food Safety and Standards (Food Product Standards and Food Additives), Food Safety and Standards (Packaging and Labeling), and Food Safety and Standards (Contaminants, Toxins, and Residues) Regulations, 2011, are the regulations that specify the standards that the FSSAI has created.
The following are subject to standards established by the FSSAI:
•    Analogs and dairy products 
•    Oils, fats, and fat emulsions
•    fruits and vegetables product
•    Cereals and related foods
•    Meat and animal byproducts
•    Fish and fish-related goods
•    desserts and confections
•    Various sweeteners, such as honey
•    condiments, spices, and associated goods
•    Beverages, (other than dairy and fruits & veggies based)
•    Additional culinary items and components
•    Propriety food
•    Food fortification, including the addition of vegetable oil, milk, salt, rice, and wheat flour/Maida, to everyday foods
The creation of standards is a dynamic process that takes into account the most recent advancements in food science, eating habits, new food products, and additives, changes in processing technology that result in altered specifications, improvements in food analytical methods, and the discovery of new risks or other regulatory options.
Under the Food Safety and Standards Act of 2006, there are various steps involved in developing standards for any food article. The draught standard is published (Draft notified) for stakeholder comments following review by the Food Authority. The Draft Standard is also announced in the WTO because India is a member of the WTO-SPS Committee. After taking into account the feedback from the stakeholders, the Standard is then finalized, published in the Indian Gazette, and put into effect.

Consumer Engagement:

Customers have several ways to contact the FSSAI. There is also a GAMA webpage for complaints against deceptive statements and ads. 

Fssai License Applicable:

Depending on the type of food business and turnover, the FSSAI provides one of three license types:


Less than Rs. 12 lakh in Turnover

State License:

For Turnover of rs.12lakh to 20crore

Central License:

For Turnover of More Than rs.20crore
When assessing the nature of the license application, other factors including the company' location and the number of retail locations are required.


In order to increase the quality and safety of the food supplied in restaurants and other establishments, the FSSAI launched the Safe Food, Tasty Food pilot project in 2009. Local municipal authorities and industry groups functioned as the project's implementing agencies (FICCI, CII, AIFPA and NRAI)

Any suggestions or correction in this article - please click here

Share this Post:

Related Posts: