States Reorganisation Commission

The creation of Andhra state in 1953 on the linguistic basis intensified the demand from other regions for creation of states  on linguistic basis. This forced the Government of India to appoint (in   December 1953) a three-member States Reorganization Commission under the chairmanship of Fazl Ali to re-examine the whole question. Its other two members  were K M Panikkar and H N Kunzru.  
  • It submitted its report in September 1955 and broadly accepted language as the basis of reorganization of states.
  • But, it rejected the theory of ‘one language– one state’. Its view was that the unity of India should be regarded as the primary consideration in any redrawing of  the country’s political units.  
  • It identified four major factors that can be taken into account in any scheme of reorganization of states:   
  • Preservation and strengthening of the unity and security of the country.
  • Linguistic and cultural homogeneity.  
  • Financial, economic and administrative considerations.
  • Planning and promotion of the welfare of the people in each state as well as of the nation as a whole.UPSC Prelims 2024 dynamic test series
  • The commission suggested the abolition of the four-fold classification of states under the original Constitution and creation of   16 states and 3 centrally administered   territories. The Government of India   accepted these recommendations with  certain minor modifications. By the States  Reorganization Act (1956) and the 7th   Constitutional Amendment Act (1956),  the distinction between Part-A and Part-B  states was done away with and Part-C  states were abolished. Some of them were  merged with adjacent states and some other   were designated as union territories. As a result, 14 states and 6 union territories   were created on November 1, 1956.  

Any suggestions or correction in this article - please click here ([email protected])

Related Posts: