Fight Over Three Language Formula

After the release of the New Education Policy 2020, the Dravidian parties in Tamil Nadu protested against the policy accusing it of imposing Hindi and Sanskrit.

  • In 1964, under the chairmanship of Prof. D.S. Kothari, the Union Government formed the Education Commission to study the 'full educational setup and recommend improvements.'
  • The study covered all aspects of education: priorities, goals, structure, syllabus, methods of teaching, pay structure, language in education, research, class power, etc.
  • The then Education Minister of the Union, praised the study as the 'Magna Carta of Teachers.'
  • The Commission has recommended the 'Three Language Formula' as a way of social and national integration to resolve the problem of language in education.
  • The Central Advisory Board of Education had already recommended a different 'Three Language Formula' in 1956 and a simplified version of the same was recommended by the Conference of Chief Ministers in 1961.
    Fight Over Three Language Formula
  • The National Education Policy (1964) that followed the Kothari Commission Report made the 'Three Language Formula' a policy.
  • All learners would then study from Class I-IV in the mother tongue. The student would study two languages in Class V-VIII, a regional language and English / Hindi depending on the region. 
  • The non-Hindi States would make Hindi compulsory, and a Southern language was supposed to be provided by the Hindi States.
  • However, the implementation of these recommendations was not standardised across the country.
The 'three-language formula' in India has its origins back in the year 1961.
The formula means that students in Hindi-speaking states should learn a modern Indian language, apart from Hindi and English and, in non-Hindi-speaking states students should learn Hindi along with the regional language and English. 
UPSC Prelims 2024 dynamic test series

o First language: The First Language that students should study is the ‘Mother tongue’ or the regional language

o Second language: In Hindi-speaking states, the second-language would be English or some other language belonging to Modern India. In Non- Hindi states, the second language will be English or Hindi.

o Third language: In Hindi-speaking states, the third language would be English or some other language belonging to Modern India, but the one that is not chosen as the second language. In Non- Hindi states, the third language will be English or some other language belonging to Modern India, but the one which is not chosen as the second language.

Hindi imposition

  • The Dr.K.Kasturirangan Committee Draft Report of 2019 made a subtle change in the ‘Three Language Formula.’
  • It made Hindi mandatory in non- Hindi speaking States. (Later the Hindi mandatory rule was withdrawn after Southern States raised objection)
  • The Draft Report removed the necessity to study a Southern language for the Hindi speaking States.
  • Instead, it inserted the term ‘modern Indian language.’ Modern Indian Languages are the ones listed under the VIII Schedule of the Constitution of India.
  • Thus a student in a Hindi speaking area could study Hindi as First language, Second language and English.

How Constitution of India deals with language?

  • Currently, the 8th Schedule of the Indian Constitution contains 22 official languages- Assamese, Bengali, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, Bodo, Santhali, Maithili and Dogri.
  • Article 346 of the Indian Constitution recognizes ‘Hindi’ in ‘Devanagari’ script as the official language of Union government India.
  • However, the Constitution did not declare Hindi as the National language, it rather accorded Hindi the status of ‘official language’ along with English.

Article 350A:

  • Article 350A of the Constitution deals with the facilities for instruction in mother tongue at the primary stage.
  • It shall be the endeavour of every State and of every local authority within the State to provide adequate facilities for instruction in the ‘mother-tongue’ at the primary stage of education to children belonging to linguistic minority groups; and the President may issue such directions to any State as he considers necessary or proper for securing the provision of such facilities.

Article 351:

• Article 351 provides a directive for development of the Hindi language. • It shall be the duty of the Union to promote the spread of the Hindi language, to develop it so that it may serve as a medium of expression for all the elements of the composite culture of India and to secure its enrichment by assimilating without interfering with its genius, the forms, style and expressions used in Hindustani and in the other languages of India specified in the Eighth Schedule, and by drawing, wherever necessary or desirable, for its vocabulary, primarily on Sanskrit and secondarily on other languages. 
Fight Over Three Language Formula
Why does Tamil Nadu oppose it?
  • Tamil Nadu felt that the ‘Three Language Formula’ was a ploy to introduce Hindi into Non-Hindi States and resisted the implementation.
  • Tamil Nadu adopted a two-language formula — Tamil and English. Hindi speaking States did not adopt a South Indian language.
  • They too went for a two-language formula. Hindi speaking States don’t have a need for a South Indian language same as the Southern States do not have a need for Hindi.
Today, for diversity to continue in all fields, India needs the acknowledgment of 'multilingualism.' For Ex. Regional language and English in the South, regional language and English in the Hindi belt, regional language and English in the North East must be based on efficient language teaching / learning. It is a handicap to know only one language. It's time to pay attention to increasing the standard of students ' language proficiency.

Any suggestions or correction in this article - please click here ([email protected])

Related Posts: