International Telecommunication Union

ITU (headquartered in Geneva) is the United Nations specialized agency for information and communication technologies – ICTs. Originally founded in 1865, as the International Telegraph Union, the ITU is the oldest existing international organization.
  • ITU facilitates international connectivity in communications networks, ITU allocates global radio spectrum and satellite orbits, develop the technical standards that ensure networks and technologies seamlessly interconnect, and strive to improve access to ICTs to underserved communities worldwide.
  • ITU’s key areas of action include:
  1. Accessibility to ICTs: Achieving Equitable Communications for Everyone
  2. Affordable, Ubiquitous Broadband Networks
  3. ICTs, Sustainability, and Climate Change
  4. ITU Cybersecurity Activities
  5. Entrepreneurship, Innovation and SME development
  6. Internet Policy and Governance
  7. Gender equality and the empowerment of women and girls through ICTs
  • The Global Cybersecurity Index (GCI) is a composite index produced, analyzed and published by the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) to measure the commitment of countries to cybersecurity in order to raise cybersecurity awareness.
  • India has been an active member of the ITU since 1869, earnestly supporting the development and propagation of telecom in the global community of nations. The country has been a regular member of the ITU Council since 1952 and has played an important role in harmonizing the contributions of member States from the region, always respecting the principles of equality and consensus-building.
  • The strong partnership with the ITU is also demonstrated in the recent ITU decision to set up the ITU South Asia Area Office and Technology Innovation Centre in New Delhi, India.
  • This local area office will play a key role in organizing capacity and capability building programmes for the region, and in accelerating the structured implementation of ITU’s development programs with focus on Least Developed Countries (LDCs), Land- Locked Developed Countries (LLDCs), Small Island Developing States (SIDS) and other similarly placed nations in the region.
  • The ITU Local Area Office will also impart a significant boost to technological reach and benefits for Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs).

Any suggestions or correction in this article - please click here

Share this Post:

Related Posts: