International Labor Organization

  • ILO (headquartered in Geneva) was created in 1919, as part of the Treaty of Versailles that ended World War I, to reflect the belief that universal and lasting peace can be accomplished only if it is based on social justice.
  • ILO is the only tripartite U.N. agency that brings together governments, employers and workers of 187 member States, to set labor standards, develop policies and devise programmes promoting decent work for all women and men.
  • In 1946, it became the 1st specialized agency of the UN.
  • ILO is devoted to promoting social justice and internationally recognized human and labor rights, pursuing its founding mission that social justice is essential to universal and lasting peace.
  • The three organs of the ILO are: - General Assembly of the ILO – Meets every year in the month of June. - Governing Body: - Executive Council of the ILO. Meets three times in a year in the months of March, June, and November.
- International Labor Office: - A permanent secretariat.
  • The principal means of action in the ILO is the setting up the International Labor Standards in the form of Conventions (legally binding) and Recommendations (non-binding). There are 8 core conventions of ILO (also called fundamental/human rights convention).
  • India has ratified 6/8 core conventions of ILO (Freedom of Association and Protection of Right to Organized Convention (No.87) and Right to Organize and Collective Bargaining Convention (No.98) are not yet ratified by India).
  • The flagship publications of ILO are: - 
  1. World Employment and Social Outlook 
  2. Global Wage Report
  3. World Social Protection Report

Any suggestions or correction in this article - please click here

Share this Post:

Related Posts: